Thankful Thursday: New Friends in Unlikely Places

Standard

Sometimes with all the introspection and processing I get a little consumed with self. Anybody else with me on that? I mean really, this world is not all about me. Amen. So for a little change of pace I am going to praise God for something I am thankful for. Does he not just abundantly bless us?  It is so easy to become focused on what we lack that we fail to acknowledge all that He has given us.

Lately I have been abundantly blessed by this sweet woman in her seventies. I met her at one of my favorite family owned restaurants that conveniently is minutes away from my home. About a month ago I was in there having a date with Jesus. On these dates Jesus and I will go to a restaurant and hang out. Usually I read, journal or do bible study and enjoy the time communing with Him. I was doing just that when this woman sat down at the booth next to me. I was spread out at my table just about to dig into the Word, when my attention was drawn to her because of the conversation she was having with the server. I was not meaning to be nosy, but she was expressing concern about sodium content and for some reason I was interested. Before I knew it the server had walked away and she had struck up a conversation with me. We commiserated on dietary needs (I am gluten and milk intolerant) and how inconvenient they are.

Minutes later I invited her to my table and boy am I glad that I did. This dear woman is full of stories. She makes me laugh, teaches me things and honestly fascinates me. She is talented and knows three different languages, has traveled and is very well educated in art and literature. On that day a divine connection was made, or as she would say just pure luck. We have been hanging out ever since. I am excited for the ways our relationship will grow in the coming months, hopefully years. She knows nothing about Jesus. She openly admitted that to me the other day, although I will admit I knew that already, and to her surprise it changed nothing. But my new friend is already dear to my heart and I love her. I know God is up to something. She has had three encounters with pastors in the past week and God has sparked her curiosity. My friend feels that these meetings are just too weird.

Something she said to me that stuck with me is that she believes that some people have faith and that others don’t. She thinks she falls into the category of someone who just doesn’t have “it”. Could you do me a favor and join me in prayer for my new friend? Would you pray that she has eyes to see and ears to hear His voice? Pray that she has faith of even a mustard seed to see and know He is God. That her heart would be prepared to hear the truth and that the seed would not turn up void? Also pray against any schemes of the enemy to deceive her. Pray that I would know how to answer her questions as they come up. I really just want to love her well as Christ would love her. At the opportune time I hope to be bold in my faith and share with her the Truth, but only if I am prompted to by Him. I really believe He is about to usher her right into the Kingdom of God. I’d love if you’d pray and I will be sure to keep you posted so we can celebrate when that day comes!

So today I am thankful for new friends and new opportunities to build relationships. Do you have anything you are thankful for this Thursday? I would love to hear about something you feel thankful for today. Comment below and we can engage in prayer of thanksgiving and rejoice in the Lord for the ways He has blessed us. Happy Thursday!!!

“Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4: 4-7

2 responses »

  1. Erin-

    How wonderful on this new relationship – SHE will see GOD in YOU!! I am sure of it – it is amazing how the young can be such a wise example for those of us who are older. I am thankful today for OUR relationship…I am truly blessed by you! I am thankful for my authentic girlfriends who love me for who I am in CHRIST!!

    • Awe Maxine 🙂
      Thanks! I am so grateful for our relationship too! I love the ways God divinely arranges meeting people who will touch your life. You are one of those people who is authentic to the core! Thanks for teaching me how to communicate straight and to the point! I know it will be useful sooner rather than later 🙂

Leave a Reply

